|State Name||How to Request a State Vehicle Record|
Persons eligible under the Driver Privacy Protection Act and Alaska statutes may obtain an Alaska Motor Vehicle Record.
Complete a Request for Vehicle Record Form 851, sign and date the form, submit payment and any required documents to the Alaska DMV. There is a $10 fee for each record. Government agencies are not charged for this service.
If you are the owner of record on the Arizona title, you may purchase a Title and Registration Motor Vehicle Record (MVR):
If you are a prospective buyer of a vehicle currently titled in Arizona, you may ask the vehicle owner to provide you with an Arizona MVR prior to purchase of the vehicle.
Arkansas is under the federal Driver’s Privacy Act and will not give out information belonging to someone else. If you need information from when you owned the vehicle you may send in a written request along with a copy of your driver’s license to request the information.
Your request must contain the following:
Mail your request to:
If you need additional information you may contact our Information/Records Unit by phone at 501-682-4692 or by fax at 501-682-4756 or by email at MVInformation@dfa.arkansas.gov
|6||Colorado||Customer can request vehicle record information by completing a DR2489A and submitting $2.20 for the record search. Information can be found at https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dmv/vehicle-record-searches. The DR2489A can be found at https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/DR2489A.pdf.|
State of Connecticut
Dept of Motor Vehicles
60 State St
|9||District of Columbia|
Persons eligible under D.C. Official Code § 1401.01b (the D.C. Driver Privacy Protection Act (“DPPA”) (D.C. Official Code § 1401.01b)), may obtain an unredacted Motor Vehicle Record by mail by submitting the request, along with payment and any required documents in accordance with the DPPA to D.C. DMV, P.O. Box 90120, Washington, DC 20090.
Or, a request can be made under the same eligibility requirements through the Freedom of Information Act (“FOIA”), which should include supporting documentation https://dmv.dc.gov/page/open-government-and-freedom-information-act-foia. If the FOIA request is made by mail, payment should also be included. If the request is made on-line, the requestor will be informed as to how payment is to be made.
There is a $7.00 fee for a title information request. Government agencies are not charged a fee.
|10||Florida||To request a Motor Vehicle record: https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/90510.pdf|
For Motor Vehicle information check: https://services.flhsmv.gov/MVCheckWeb/
An Idaho Motor Vehicle Record is available to individuals and businesses who can provide the vehicle identification number (VIN) and title number, and are authorized to receive this information under the federal Driver Privacy Protection Act and the provisions of Idaho Code § 49-203.
Complete a Request for Vehicle Record online at https://www.accessidaho.org/itd/driver/mvr/index or by completing and submitting a Motor Vehicle Request Form 3374 with a signature, date, and payment. Credit Card orders may be sent via fax or email.
Persons eligible under the Driver Privacy Protection Act and Illinois statutes may obtain an Illinois Motor Vehicle Record.
Information Request Form:
|14||Indiana||https://www.in.gov/bmv/titles/title-forms/ Under the heading: “Obtaining a Vehicle or Watercraft Record” select “Request for Certified Records - State Form 53789”|
|15||Iowa||Iowa Department of Transportation |
Office of Vehicle and Motor Carrier Services
P.O. Box 9278
Des Moines, IA 50306-9278
Telephone (515) 237-3110
Fax (515) 237-3056
|16||Kansas||Persons eligible under the Driver Privacy Protection Act and Kansas State statutes may obtain a Kansas Motor Vehicle Record. |
For online inquiries (subscriber service only) - https://www.kansas.gov/mvr/
By mail - submit the completed form and applicable payment: https://www.ksrevenue.org/pdf/trdl302.pdf
Kansas Division of Vehicles
PO Box 2505
Topeka, Kansas 66601-2505
|17||Kentucky||Use form TC96-16G-Request for Motor Vehicle or Boat Record that Includes Personal Information-Government Agency Use Only found at http://transportation.ky.gov/Organizational-Resources/Forms/TC%2096-16g.pdf. Submit according to mail-in directions on form. Current record retention is five years.|
45 Commerce Drive, Suite 10
Augusta, Maine 04330
Phone (207) 621-2600 or (207) 512-5605
Toll-Free (877) 212-6500
Fax (207) 621-9950
General Email: email@example.com
For subscriber information: (207) 621-2600 x038
Maryland motor vehicle record information may be requested by submitting an MVA Request for Record found on our website at https://mva.maryland.gov/Documents/DR-057.pdf
Instructions on how to submit the application can be found on the Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration’s website at https://mva.maryland.gov/Pages/driver-record-questions.aspx#:~:text=A%20business%20may%20download%20the,202%20(for%20vehicle%20records).
|21||Massachusetts||https://secure.rmv.state.ma.us/TitleLookup/intro.aspx. Please select “Title/Lien inquiry” and follow instructions.|
Driver and vehicle records are released in compliance with Driver Privacy Protection Laws. For more information, visit the Michigan Department of State website at: www.Michigan.gov/sos.
Complete Records: Complete driver and vehicle records may be requested through the Record Lookup Unit at 517-335-6198. Records are $11 each ($12 for a certified record) and provided at no charge to government agencies.
Form BDVR-154 is used for an individual or commercial organization requesting their own or another person’s record. Form BDVR-153 is used for Account holder record lookup requests. Form BDVR-155 is for use by government agencies. These forms are available on https://www.michigan.gov/sos/0,4670,7-127-1631_11465---,00.html.
Bulk Data: Bulk data is available through the List Sales Program. Address inquiries to ListSales@Michigan.gov. Bulk records are record extracts (primarily header information) and do not contain driving, title or registration history.
|23||Minnesota||https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/forms-documents/Pages/records-forms.aspx or call DVS Records Office, (651) 296- 2940.|
If you are the owner of record on the Missouri title, you may purchase a title and/or registration motor vehicle record by completing request form 5499, Request From Record Holder form. Form and fee may be submitted by:
Vehicle owner will receive documentation containing requested owner, vehicle, lien, and/or registration information; however, this documentation may not be used in place of the Missouri title for transfer of ownership. For information on obtaining a duplicate Missouri title, visit http://dor.mo.gov/motorv/titlerep.php or call (573) 526-3669 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. through 5:00 p.m. CT.
If you are the not owner of record on the Missouri title, Missouri record information may be requested by submitting the request form and fee for each record. If personal information is requested, the requestor will submit Request for Motor Vehicle Records with Personal Information form, Form 5091. When no personal information is requested, the completion of form Request for Information, Form 4803 is required. Refer to form for fee assessment.
Public Records Request Review
Prior to release, public record requests are reviewed for permissible uses allowable by federal and state laws. DOL will either provide you with:
|30||New Jersey||Businesses may access applications and obtain information through the NJMVC records website: |
Individuals may submit a written request for a variety of records:
New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division Joseph Montoya Building
Download/fill out Confidential Records Release form
Special Instructions: In addition to taking this form to an MVD office, this form is eligible to be faxed to (505) 827-2783 and include your name and phone number.
North Dakota vehicle record information may be requested by submitting the Request for Vehicle Information - SFN 51269. Instructions and fees are explained on the form.
Forms can be found on the NDDOT home page web site at
Complete and fax or mail to the fax number or mailing address provided on this form.
|38||Pennsylvania||If you are the owner of the vehicle, you may purchase a vehicle history by downloading a Request for Vehicle Information (DL-135) from http://www.dmv.state.pa.us. Click on “Forms and Publications”, “All Motor Vehicle Forms, Publications and FAQ’s,” and DL-135. Forms must be mailed to PennDOT for processing.|
If you are a prospective buyer of a vehicle currently titled in South Carolina, you may request a South Carolina title history by submitting a completed Request for Vehicle Information form (Form 5027-A) to SCDMV, P.O. Box 1498, Blythewood, SC 29016-1498.
The title history for the vehicle will include odometer information and all supporting documentation on file. The cost for the Title History is $6.00. Make checks payable to SCDMV.
|41||South Dakota||Please submit to the following: firstname.lastname@example.org|
Persons eligible under the Driver Privacy Protection Act and Tennessee State statutes may obtain a TN State Motor Vehicle Record.
Complete a Vehicle Information Request, Form RV-F1313801, sign and date the form, submit payment and any required documents to the Dept. of Revenue, Vehicle Services Division. The fee depends upon what is requested, this information can be found on our form. Government agencies are not charged for this service.
The consumer must:
To contact the department, please visit: http://www.txdmv.gov/contact-us.
If you are the owner of record on the Utah state title, you may purchase a Title and Registration Motor Vehicle Record by completing Utah form TC-890. Once completed please mail the form and payment to the address listed on the form.
If you are not the owner, please review the other authorized reasons listed on our form. If you can meet one of these conditions, you may be entitled to the motor vehicle information.
You can obtain this form on-line at www.dmv.utah.gov
|45||Vermont||Telephone: 802-828-2000 or by email at DMV.InformationUnit@vermont.gov|
|46||Virginia||For a Prospective Purchaser Inquiry (PPI) on a vehicle titled in Virginia go to www.dmvnow.com. On DMV’s home page, go to the bottom of the page under General Information and click on Obtaining DMV Records. Once on the screen titled Obtaining DMV Records, look down the list of available transactions for Vehicle History Reports and click on the Prospective Purchaser Inquiry (PPI).|
Washington State vehicle record information may be requested by submitting a Vehicle Record Request form to the Department of Licensing.
Public Records Request Review
Prior to release, Vehicle/Vessel public records requests are reviewed for permissible uses allowable by federal and state laws. DOL will either provide you with:
|48||West Virginia||Contact our Records Management Unit at (304) 926-3909 or go to https://transportation.wv.gov/DMV/Forms/Pages/Search-Results.aspx?Title=&DMVFormNumber=dmv-100-tr&DMVFormCategory= and download and complete form DMV100 “Request for Vehicle Information” and either mail or take to our Vehicle Services section at the main DMV office in Kanawha City, WV with the applicable fees.|
Wisconsin vehicle record information can be requested by submitting the Vehicle/Driver Record Information Request form, MV2896 and a $5.00 fee for each record. If personal information is being requested, the form needs to have one of the boxes checked authorizing release of personal information.
Additional information related to privacy of WI motor vehicle records can be found at: http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/license-drvs/rcd-crsh-rpt/privacy.aspx.
If you are the owner of record on the title, you must contact the County Clerk in the county that the title was issued to order a duplicate title. If you are the registered owner of record on the registration, you must contact the County Treasurer in the county that the license plate and registration was issued to order a duplicate registration or replace a lost or stolen license plate.
The County Clerk’s and County Treasurer’s telephone numbers are listed on our website at http://www.dot.state.wy.us/home/titles_plates_registration.html.
For a title search, we follow the Federal Privacy Disclosure Act. If you qualify, you may complete our Privacy Disclosure Agreement and pay $5.00 for each title search. The Agreement is found on our website at